Header Image

Daydream Radio is Smiling Static
Liner Notes

Whether you saw us at an all-ages show in a church basement, a beer-soaked dive bar, a jam-packed house party, a random college ballroom, or a crazy outdoor show with a million other bands, this album is for you. With your help, every Ultimate Fakebook show became a party.

Our party officially ended in 2003, but five years later, we got together to play a friend’s birthday show and a benefit. That was fun. Then our pals in Motion City Soundtrack asked us on a special three-night run in Chicago and that was fun too. One more show over this past New Year, and we were starting to get a groove on!

After I heard Bill’s amazing song on the Seven Degrees of Stephen Egerton record a couple months later, I called him up and was like, “What’s up? Wanna make a UFB record?” His reply kind of shocked me.

You see, we’re kind of perfectionists. So when Bill said he’d listened to a lot of the unreleased UFB songs from back in the day and was surprised at how they made sense as an album, I thought he was a little nuts. (When he told me the song order was alphabetical, that thought was all but confirmed.) Then I listened to them and realized he was right.

These songs are from at least four different sessions. The first batch were supposed to be on the major-label follow up to This Will Be Laughing Week that never happened. We saved some of our favorites and purposely didn’t put them on Open Up and Say Awesome. The others were sessions of new stuff recorded in 2003. They were supposed to come out on the record that was to follow the Before We Spark EP.

After a little bit of space, we heard them with new ears and thought “Why didn’t we ever put these out?”

It’s not perfect. Rock n’ roll never is. Normally, we would have fixed some things—performances, specific parts, lyrics… (I’m looking at you, “Bitter Doll!”) But there is a certain charm and honesty to this stuff. It sounds really fresh now, like a radio broadcast from another, less cynical time and place. We came to the realization that it’s kind of our “lost” record. Why not give people a peek into our process?

Since This Will Be Laughing Week came out 10 years ago this month and since there’s also a pretty strong lyrical summer theme going on here, we thought, why not just put these songs out right now? Bill added the brand new title track just a couple of weeks ago and it wraps up the album on a kind of nostalgic note that really ties this collection together. Hopefully, everyone who listens will get that same wistful feeling.

Then again, if you’re new to Ultimate Fakebook, maybe you’ll just dig the songs on their own terms like we do.

Anyway, it was a last-minute decision to put the record out now and give it away as a free mp3 download. If you want to burn a CD, you can do that too, but we loved the idea of getting it out there as quick and painless as possible. It’s our gift to you.

Our friend Kliph mastered it to sound awesome, so crank it up in your car or stereo—don’t just listen to it on crappy computer speakers. We sincerely hope you enjoy the 17 Ultimate Fakebook songs that we like to call Daydream Radio is Smiling Static. Thanks for being the coolest fans ever.

Eric Melin, July 2010

Album Notes

Tracks 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 10, and 15 recorded by Ed Rose at Red House Studios, Eudora KS.

Tracks 3, 5, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, and 16 recorded by Peter Buxton in Lawrence KS.

JD Warnock, backing vocals on tracks 5, 13, and 16, guitar on tracks 11 and 13.

Mastered by Kliph Scurlock
Album cover by Beth Raebel
Additional art by Whitney Mullon and Dustin Schirer

Ultimate Fakebook is:
Bill McShane, vocals, guitar
Nick Colby, bass
Eric Melin, drums

All songs written by Bill McShane, arranged by Ultimate Fakebook
copyright Champagne Jam 2010 (ASCAP),
except track 8, written by Bill McShane and Eric Melin, arranged by Ultimate Fakebook
copyright Champagne Jam 2010 (ASCAP),
and track 5, written by Robert Pollard, copyright needmore songs 1994 (BMI).

Huge Thank You To:

Bob Moczydlowsky and Topspin Media, Stephen and Natalie Egerton, Motion City Soundtrack, The Dead Girls, Brad Barrish, Austin Mayer, Brian Schopfel and Eyes & Ears Entertainment, J.D. Warnock, Kliph Scurlock, Ed Rose, Peter Buxton, Troy Colby, Beth Raebel, Whitney Mullon, Randy Paske, Aaron Weber, Dustin Schirer, the recordBar, Jennifer Long, Scott Spychalski, Jodi Gentry, Laura Hessenflow, and all our friends and families!